☆    

Spain,
2011-02-22 15:05
(4783 d 21:43 ago)

Posting: # 6659
Views: 4,099

Pre-dose concentrations in period 2 [Study As­sess­ment]

Dear colleagues,

First of all I would like to give thanks for this forum, it seems very helpful.
This is my first time writting, and I'm very naive in BA/BE studies.

I would like some advice on how to justify pre-dose concentration in the 2nd period, as we found them in around 50 % of subjects. It's very clear that the wash-out period was insufficient, but I would like to report that in an elegant way.

As far as I know it should not be critical as all of them are below 5% of Cmax. Both test and reference were affected equally.

Any suggestion?

Thanks,

Averroes

Edit: Category changed; see also this post #1. [Helmut]
Helmut
★★★
Homepage
Vienna, Austria,
2011-02-22 15:45
(4783 d 21:03 ago)

@ Averroes
Posting: # 6660
Views: 3,497

Pre-dose concentrations in period 2

Dear Averroes!

❝ I would like some advice on how to justify pre-dose concentration in the 2nd period, as we found them in around 50 % of subjects. It's very clear that the wash-out period was insufficient, but I would like to report that in an elegant way.

Well, nothing to justify here. Shit happens; just report it and learn from it for the next studies. A common mistake is to plan the washout on the mean half-life reported in literature. Remember that higher than expected pre-dose values may occur if there is high inter-subject variability (especially if the drug is subjected to polymorphism). Plan always for the worst case (see this presentation, slides 40-42).

❝ As far as I know it should not be critical as all of them are below 5% of Cmax. Both test and reference were affected equally.