GM
★    

India,
2017-11-17 05:55
(2323 d 09:54 ago)

Posting: # 17986
Views: 5,608

calculation of 90% CI for continuous variable in clinical endpoint studies [General Sta­tis­tics]

Hello All,

As I am new to the endpoint studies, how can we calculate 90% CI for continuous variable in clinical endpoint studies?

As per my understanding, there are two ways. One is ±20 rule for the difference of means and 80-120% rule for ratio of means of un-transformed data. Based on this reference 90% CI Calculation

But as per OGD, the 90%CI should lies in 80-125% for un-transformed data. Please see the point no.21 in the OGD (see Clindamycin Phosphate).

This is :confused: me a lot. Please clarify.

Edit: URL corrected. Please don’t link to a Google-India search term. [Helmut]

Best Regards,
GM
ElMaestro
★★★

Denmark,
2017-11-18 22:17
(2321 d 17:32 ago)

@ GM
Posting: # 17987
Views: 4,801

calculation of 90% CI for continuous variable in clinical endpoint studies

Hi GM,

the tradition is to use 80.00%-125.00% for a ratio of continuous variables. This makes extremely good sense under a certain set of assumptions.

You refer to section 21 of the guidance, but this does not relate to continuous variables. It applies to dichotomous variables instead.

Rule of thumb: For a difference, the acceptance range is symmetric. For a ratio the lower acceptance limit equals the reciprocal upper limit, naturally. Most BE issues you will come across have elements of both if logs are involved.

Pass or fail!
ElMaestro
GM
★    

India,
2017-11-19 13:13
(2321 d 02:35 ago)

@ ElMaestro
Posting: # 17992
Views: 4,795

Hello El-Maestro,

Thankyou for the reply.

❝ the tradition is to use 80.00%-125.00% for a ratio of continuous variables. This makes extremely good sense under a certain set of assumptions.

Is it possible for untransformed data also? If possible what are the limits i.e., 80-125 or 80-120.