Confidence intervals vs. point estimators [Regulatives / Guidelines]

posted by ElMaestro  – Denmark, 2010-08-06 14:34 (4983 d 00:40 ago) – Posting: # 5728
Views: 15,247

Hi Dan,

❝ I am not an expert in statistics but as far as I know the 90% confidence interval for Cmax and AUC tells one that the true test/reference ratio lies within this interval with a probability of 90%.

If the experiment is repeated an infinite number of times, 90% of the point estimates would be within your bounds, that's what you'd expect, all other factors being equal and assumptions holding. This is interpreted to mean that the true PE with 90% certainty is within the bounds you first found.

❝ On the one side we will argue that for both primary bioequivalence parameters there is a overlapping of confidence intervals for all four studies. On the other side the assessor will argue that the point estimators of the second pilot study are not included by the confidence intervals of the other studies -> batch variability! Is this reasonable?

Yes, in principle. Do I get you correctly that there is no single point all four CI's have in common?
Here's a proposal, the guideline specifically reads: "The test product should usually originate from a batch of at least 1/10 of production scale or
100,000 units, whichever is greater, unless otherwise justified."
. This is because everybody knows that there is variability between batches and that performance of a pilot batch is not necessarily equal to a full scale batch. So, you will just with kind words remind the assessor that a bunch of his/her colleagues acknowledge that fact that pilot performance is not pivotal performance and cannot be expected to be. Yes, there is variability between batches. No, it is not a problem, you are handling it well by separating pivotal data from pilot data. This is what you can tell the assessor.