Louis52
☆    

2018-02-01 20:57
(2246 d 17:55 ago)

Posting: # 18328
Views: 6,167

Finding the CI limits [Power / Sample Size]

Hello,

I'm new at this subject matter. I'm trying to learn more about BEQ studies, especially about how to get the CV(intra) when little or no (or not reliable) prior info available. I went over the "Biostatistics Sample Size Estimation for BE Studies" presentation (thank you) and at one point in one of the "Hints" slide it says that "All you need is the 90% geometric confidence interval and the sample size." My question is if I don't have no prior pilot study from which to get a CV intra, how would I use all this information? Am I understanding correctly that the CLlow and CLhigh would be the 90% confidence limits for a prior CV intra, or they refer to something else? I'm asking that because of the "...geometric confidence interval...". Why are we talking here about that?

Thanks!
Helmut
★★★
Homepage
Vienna, Austria,
2018-02-02 01:56
(2246 d 12:56 ago)

@ Louis52
Posting: # 18330
Views: 5,613

CV from CI

Hi Louis,

❝ […] how to get the CV(intra) when little or no (or not reliable) prior info available. I went over the "Biostatistics Sample Size Estimation for BE Studies" presentation […] and at one point in one of the "Hints" slide it says that "All you need is the 90% geometric confidence interval and the sample size."

I guess you are referring to this presentation (slide 24), right?

❝ Am I understanding correctly that the CLlow and CLhigh would be the 90% confidence limits for a prior CV intra…

Essentially yes.

<nitpick>

The 100(1–2α) CI is calculated from

1. the geometric mean ratio (GMR),
  2. the number of subjects / sequence,
  3. the t-value (for given α and degrees of freedom specific for the design), and
  4. the mean square error (which is an estimate of the variance).